A Quick-Fire Guide On Class 4 MOTs

If your car is older than 3 years, and you want to drive it on public roads, an MOT is a legal requirement. It helps keep your vehicle roadworthy and environmentally safe but failing to do so will result in hefty fines and points on your licence. We understand the process may be confusing especially if you’ve bought a new or used car as a frequently asked question is “does my car need a Class 4 MOT?”

What Is A Class 4 MOT?

It’s a good question considering there are different MOT classes which range from 1 to 7, although there isn’t a Class 6 MOT. The answer will depend on the type of vehicle but to make it easy; the most common for vehicles is a Class 4 MOT.

A Class 4 MOT is your standard MOT test for most cars or vehicles with up to 8 passenger seats. This includes taxis, private hire cars, ambulances, motorhomes, campervans, most vans and smaller commercial vehicles with a weight of up to 3,000 kg.

Which Parts And Components Are Included In The Class 4 MOT Test?

An MOT test is not the same as having your vehicle serviced as it’s only a visual inspection and does not look at its general mechanical condition. Typically, a Class 4 MOT takes approximately an hour to complete and covers the following:

  • Tyres and wheels
  • Brakes
  • Horn
  • Exhaust System and emissions
  • Mirrors
  • Doors
  • Boot, tailgate and tow bar (if applicable)
  • Seats
  • Vehicle structure
  • Fuel system
  • Seat belt and SRS
  • Steering and suspension
  • Windscreen, wipers and washer
  • Electrical systems
  • Lights (headlights, brake lights, reverse lights, fog lamps, indicators, hazards etc.)
  • Registration Plate
  • Bonnet


Is My Van Class 4 or Class 7?

Whilst it may seem confusing, the difference between Class 4 MOT and Class 7 MOT is pretty straightforward. A Class 4 MOT is the most common for all vehicles with a gross vehicle weight (GVW) less than 3,000 kg. A Class 7 MOT is for vehicles weighing between 3,001kg and 3,500kg.

You can find the GVW limits of your vehicle in the owner’s manual but it’s usually also on a plate or sticker on the vehicle itself. Look at the body behind the driver’s door, on the back of the fuel filler cap or in the engine bay.

Recommended: ‘How To Pass Your MOT The First-Time

What Are The Different MOT Classes?

In terms of the other MOT classes, we’ve listed them below with a short description of each.

  • Class 1 MOT – Small motorbikes – up to 200cc or a motorbike and sidecar up to 200cc
  • Class 2 MOT – Motorbikes (and with sidecars) over 200cc
  • Class 3 MOT – 3-wheeled vehicles that weigh up to 450kg
  • Class 4a MOT – Class 4 vehicles with 9-12 passenger seats which also require a seatbelt check
  • Class 5 MOT – Private passenger vehicles and ambulances with 13-16 and more than 16 passenger seats, play buses and coaches
  • Class 5a MOT – Class 5 vehicles with more than 13 passenger seats which also require a seatbelt check

What Is The Annual Test?

Any vehicle that weighs more than 3,500 kg (3.5 tons) has to book a separate test known as the Annual Test. If you own such a vehicle, only an Authorised Test Facility (ATF) or a DVSA test station may conduct this Annual Test and not at a local repair centre.

Book Your Class 4 MOT At Elite Garages

All of our Elite Garages, except Strood, has an onsite MOT testing centre where we only offer Class 4 MOTs. Our DVSA-approved examiners will provide a detailed report and if they identify any faults, you can book a service through us as well.

If it is a Class 4 MOT you need, why not give us a call? Our friendly, professional team is here to help keep your car safe, roadworthy and environmentally friendly. If you can’t remember when your MOT is due, you can find out on the government website.

You can also sign up for the Elite Members Club to receive FREE MOT reminders and get early notifications of special offers. If you’re ready, book an MOT online now with Elite Garages.

Class 4 MOT Near Me

For your convenience, below is a full list of our MOT service centres spread across the south and southeast of England.